After I updated my U messenger to the latest version, the program still pops up the message asking to update constantly. What can I do?
If you encountered the condition that the software update message keeps showing up after you updated U messenger to the latest version, please do the following to check if it helps resolve the issue:
- Close U messenger if it is open.
- Open Windows File Explorer, and follow Microsoft instruction to show the hidden files in the file explorer first:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/view-hidden-files-and-folders-in-windows-97fbc472-c603-9d90-91d0-1166d1d9f4b5 - Go to the following folder:
C:\ProgramData\CyberLink\U - Right click on the U folder, and then select Properties.
- Click on the Security tab, and then select your username/account (that you used to sign in to Windows) from the user list in the Security page.
- Click the Edit... button to open the Permission page.
- Select your username/account (that you used to sign in to Windows) from the user list in the Permission page.
- In the Full control row, select the Allow option.
- Click OK to save the settings, and then reboot Windows.
- Launch U messenger to run the software update again.
If your PC platform is located or managed under a company/organization network, and you didn't have the access/privilege to adjust the Permission options for the folder above, we suggest you contact the IT administrator of your company to grant you the access and help you set up the folder and update the U version on your PC.
