CyberLink Logo

CyberLink Support

Back

End-to-End Encryption (E2EE) for U.

Overview

End-to-end encryption (E2EE) is a system of communication where only the communicating users can read the messages. In principle, it prevents potential eavesdroppers – including telecom providers, Internet providers, and even the provider of the communication service – from being able to access the encrypted conversation. The systems are designed to prevent any attempts at surveillance or tampering.

End-to-End Encryption (E2EE) is supported for U organization only. Only the administrators for the U organization account can enable E2EE. After enabling E2EE for a U organization, the communication between its members will be encrypted. The messages can only be read by the specific message receiver account or in the specific group.

How do I enable or disable End-to-End Encryption (E2EE)?

To enable E2EE for your U organization account, please follow the steps below.

  1. Visit https://u.cyberlink.com/user/profile.
  2. Use the administrator account for the U organization to sign in to the website.
  3. Enter the "Overview" page of the "Organization Admin Tools".
  4. Enable the option "Enable end-to-end-encryption for all staff in the organization" in "Organization Settings".

After E2EE is enabled, all the members in the U organization will be E2EE protected. To disable E2EE for a U organization, just disable the option mentioned in step 4.

How do I know if a chat room or meeting is protected by end-to-end encryption (E2EE)?

If a chat room is protected by end-to-end encryption (E2EE), the color of the "Send" or "Call" button of the chat room is black and you can find a black lock icon on the chat room title bar.

If a meeting is protected by E2EE, you'll find a black lock icon on the up-right corner of the meeting room.

How do I host a U Meeting that has end-to-end encryption (E2EE) protection?

To host a U Meeting that has end-to-end encryption (E2EE), the meeting has to be scheduled or hosted by an E2EE protected account.

If the host of a meeting is not an E2EE protected account, the meeting won't be protected by E2EE, even if other participants with E2EE accounts join the meeting.

 

Note: the PSTN/CS210 feature is not supported in E2EE meetings.

What features will be disabled when end-to-end encryption (E2EE) is enabled?

If any contact in a chat room or a group chat are protected by end-to-end encryption (E2EE), the functions in the chat room will be disabled.

  • Forums.
  • Polls.
  • Video and voice messages.
  • Photo albums.
  • Location sharing.
  • Delay sending of messages.
  • Retrieving message history from U Storage.
  • Using Google Chrome to join an E2EE encrypted U Meeting.
  • Forwarding photos and files to or from an E2EE chat room.
  • Viewing photos or files list in a chat room.
  • Adding annotations on a photo in a chat room.
  • Sharing images or URLs from 3rd party apps to U Messenger on an iOS device.
  • Does not support E2EE in a group with more than 50 people.
  • E2EE-encrypted meetings cannot be joined via dedicated a line or corporate extensions.

Can I enable or disable end-to-end encryption (E2EE) for specific members of a U organization?

End-to-end encryption (E2EE) can only be enabled or disabled for the entire U organization. E2EE protects all members in the U organization once it is enabled. You can't enable or disable E2EE for specific members in a U organization.

Find More Resources

Was this page helpful?
End-to-End Encryption (E2EE) for U.